Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

24th National Law Enforcement Academy Commencement Exercise

For Immediate Release
Serial No. PR-18-084
January 19, 2018
Office of the President

24th National Law Enforcement Academy Commencement Exercise

On January 19th, a total of twenty cadets received their Certificate of Completion for fulfilling all the academic and physical requirements of the 24th National Law Enforcement Academy, a 14-week training program aimed at equipping cadets with all the necessary tools to take on a career in law enforcement.

Congratulating the cadets for successfully completing the program, President Tommy E. Remengesau, Jr. emphasized and highlighted the importance of respect and integrity, on and off-duty, in the field of law enforcement.

Special awards recognizing the exemplary effort, performance, and dedication of the cadets during the entire course of the program were presented during the ceremony.  Awarded for Perfect Attendance were Charles Tachibelmel, Bonifacio Ngiraiwet, Kirk Derbai and Hogan Techakl Skebong. The Leadership Award presented by Vice President and Minister of Justice Raynold B. Oilouch was awarded to Kirk Derbai. Top Physical Fitness Award presented by President Remengesau was awarded to Lavoice Umiich Mongami. Academic Excellence Award presented by Paramount Chief Ibedul Yutaka M. Gibbons was awarded to Kirk Derbai. The Against All Odds Award presented by House of Delegates Vice Speaker Lucio Ngiraiwet was awarded to Bonifacio Ngiraiwet.

Graduates of the 24th National Law Enforcement Academy are Hubert Amalei of the Division of Patrol, Tony Chayam of Helen Reef Research Management Program, Oreokel M. Daniel of Kayangel State Government, Kirk Derbai of Division of Customs, Isaiah A. Dolmers of Division of Patrol, Abimelech Etpison of Aimeliik State Government, Tracy E. Marcello of Helen Reef Research Management Program, Gregory Meyar of Division of Biosecurity, Lavoice U. Mongami of Kayangel State Government, Bonifacio Ngiraiwet of Airport Police, Loureine S. Echang of Division of Immigration, Hogan T. Skebong of Airport Police, Charles Tachibelmel of Palau Community College and Kerkikl Tkoel of the Airport Police. The five cadets who enrolled and successfully completed the program in their individual capacities are Kristoffer A. Chapman, Ojay Feliciano, Blailes Byron Chiokai, Ken Iyekar, Arlene Melimarang, and Carson A. Sumor.

The ceremony was attended by President Remengesau, Paramount Chief Ibedul, Vice Speaker Ngiraiwet, Vice President Oilouch, Kayangel Governor Midas Ngiracheluolu, Aimeliik Governor Demei Obak, Hatohobei Governor Huana Nestor, PCC President Dr. Patrick Tellei, Ministry of Justice officers, and the family and friends of the graduates.

Click on the following link to download a copy of this press release: Press Release re. 24th National Law Enforcement Academy Commencement_19JAN2018_FINAL